I Dodged a Bullet

Here’s why it’s a good thing it didn’t work out.

Jenny Krueger
5 min readSep 14, 2022
Imaged created by author using Canva.

Being single isn’t the end of the world. I know this realization was a shock to me too. Growing up, I constantly felt like it was since I’ve always been the single one in the group.

I felt as if something was wrong with my personality, my looks, or both, which is why I remained single all these years.

The continual reminder that I don’t have a partner would bother me. However, now that I’m in my mid-30s, It doesn’t bug me as much.

Yet, I’ll admit, sometimes I feel bad that I don’t have a boyfriend or that I’m still not married. However, I don’t feel bad to the point that it’s disrupting my mental health.

Not anymore.

What also helps me not feel bad is to look back at times I had the opportunity to be in a relationship and why it’s a good thing it didn’t work out.

For this story, I’m only going to focus on my time with John since he was my first experience with love and my situation with him impacted my life the most.

My First Experience with Love.

We all remember John. He’s the douche canoe who stole my money and blamed it on the cashier overcharging my card. Good times.

--

--

Jenny Krueger

Lifestyle Writer | Chronic Pain Sufferer | Sepsis Survivor | Golden Girls Enthusiast, Las Vegas Fanatic & Horror Movie Lover. https://linktr.ee/jennybwriter